Skip to main content


The new Routes into Languages website is currently in development and will be launching in the new year!


Promoting the take-up of languages and student mobility

Threlford Memorial Cup 2016


The Chartered Institute of Linguists (CIOL) invites nominations for the next winner of the Threlford Memorial Cup – the prestigious award for inspiration and originality in language teaching and learning. The cup is awarded to an individual, organisation or project that has encouraged others in language learning.

Ideal candidates could include, for instance, a teacher who has inspired young minds, a business or organisation that has led a project, or someone who works hard within the local community to keep alive a heritage language and culture.

The award has attracted a variety of outstanding winners in recent years. The current holder is Angeliki Petrits who led the European Master's in Translation project on behalf of the EC. The year before, the award went to the GCHQ Language Outreach Programme for their work inspiring school students to take up languages. And in 2013 Lizzie Fane won for the website, offering a wealth of information to language students embarking on their year abroad.

Anyone who knows of someone who has gone the extra mile to encourage language learning and would like to put them forward for the cup should download the nomination form from the CIOL website and return it to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by Friday 29 July 2016.

The winner will be chosen in September by the Threlford Committee, and the cup will be presented by HRH Prince Michael of Kent GCVO, CIOL's Royal Patron, at an awards evening in central London on Monday 14 November 2016.

Further information from:
Debbie Butler
Communications and Marketing Manager This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
+44 (0)20 7940 3105