Steering group

The Routes into Languages North East Steering Group draws on a wide-ranging field of expertise. Our members, alongside the Project Director, Project Manager, Strand Leaders and Executive Board members are:


Zélie Guérin Director, International Newcastle

Hugh Morgan-Williams Director, Canning Group

Jo Dyer MFL Teacher, Longbenton Community College

Dr Michael Wardle Headteacher, Durham Johnston School

Debbie Wells Director of Language College, Hummersknott School, Darlington

Clare Seccombe MFL Teacher & Consultant, Ideas Education Ltd

James McElwee Director, French in Europe

Steven Fawkes Membership Officer, Trustee, Fellow & Volunteer, ALL North East

David Faulkner Councillor, Newcastle City Council

Brian Stobie International Officer, Durham County Council

Josephine Chexal Consular Corps of Newcastle upon Tyne, German Honorary Consul

Ruth Magee Former Routes NE Project Manager, now MFL Teacher, Emmanuel College

Lucy Backhurst Head of Recruitment & Admissions, Newcastle University

Simon Pallett Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Newcastle University

Liz Todd Professor of Educational Inclusion, Newcastle University

Victoria Najafi MFL Teacher, King Edward VI School (Morpeth)

Dr Andrew Day Executive Director, Northumberland Church of England Academy

Naz Demir Language & Cultural Adviser, UKTI North East

Kate Murray Senior Project Manager, North East Raising Aspirations Partnership

Thomas Snell International Partnerships Manager, Newcastle University